It provided asylum for the pilgrims and protected the Holy hut. According the original plans of the architect Johann Lucas Hildebrandt from Vienna, the cloister was supposed to consist of two storeys and be built on a unique oval plan view with 14 chapels. The entance building was designed to have the look of a spectacular palace. The construction plans were never implemented. Prince Anton Florian of Liechtenstein (1656-1721) refused them as being too grandiose and expensive. The cloister construction was finished with some delay in the mid 18th century with funds from the domain owner, diplomat and commander Josef Václav, the prince of Liechtenstein (1696-1772). The existing entrance building and the cloister were built according the plans of an unknown architect in the years 1743-1755.